Sun setting behind the remains of an aqueduct in Gozo, just outside Victoria. Ministry for Gozo website says the following about these aqueducts:
The Aqueducts which could be seen on the left hand side of the road, between Victoria and Ta’ Pinu, were built in the nineteenth century, when the British colonial period was establishing itself deeper in the Maltese social fabric.
The Aqueducts’ purpose was to supply the population with fresh water from Għar Ilma hill to the purposely converted central water reservoir within the Victoria Citadel. An Obelisk commemorating the arrival of the first water supply from Għar Ilma to Victoria was erected, and still stands on the spot of the first water reservoir. The commemorative Obelisk, ornamented with four stone plinths with a chain around it could be seen half way up Castle Hill leading to the Citadel. The building of the Aqueducts commenced on 24th September, 1839 under Governor Sir Henry F. Bouverie (1836-1843). They were complete and operational on 6th September 1843, when water first appeared from a fountain in St. Sabina Square, in Victoria.
Għar Ilma hill is still renowned for its natural fresh water spring and hence the term Għar Ilma that literally means “The Cave of Water”.
Following the end of its use, when water started to be pumped electrically through a pipe grid, the Aqueducts fell into disrepair and hence parts of it lie in ruins. However its remaining arches still stand defiantly to embellish the whole vicinity. Curious visitors are often tempted to follow the Aqueducts’ trail up to Għar Ilma hill above. From there, especially in winter and early spring, one could experience an unforgettable collage of Gozitan countryside panorama.
View Aqueducts in a larger map